Friends

No, I’m not talking about the sitcom. I was never a fan, but I do love the “Friends” theme. I have lots of on-line friends, whom I’ve never met, as well as high school and college friends, and co- and ex-co-worker friends. I’m closer to many of these people than I am to my aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws and out-laws.
This time I want to talk about two friends in particular, my best friend, Karla, whom I’ve known since 1973, and my cab driver, Greg, whom I’ve known since 2009. It might be 2008, I still can’t think straight.
After guest blogging on Joan Reeves’s “SlingWords” about writing during adversity, and telling what I was thankful for on her Thanksgiving “SlingWords,” real life and adversity came my way once again…in fact, my whole world came crashing down. Since the title of this blog is “Laugh with Me,” I’ll try not to make it too depressing, but there are reasons people haven’t heard from me for a while.
Last Sunday morning, I talked to my parents. They seemed fine – my mom was talking about me winning the lottery and how I should buy a ticket. I called them back several times that day and that night, but kept getting a busy signal. I’m laid off now, so Monday morning, I planned to check on them, and then do some grocery shopping. Needless to say, I never made it to the grocery. I called my cab driver and he drove me to their house. I found out something was wrong with the lock on the back door and I couldn’t get in with my key. He tried the front door and it was open. My parents were lying on the floor. My dad was in the bathroom, and my mom was in the hall. My dad was talking, but my mom was unresponsive, Greg had to pick someone else up, but he asked me to call him and he’d come back and check to see what was going on. When he did, we helped my dad onto the couch, but my mom was still in bad shape. I called 9-1-1. They were cold because they were waiting for someone to come and fix their furnace, and they were dehydrated and had gotten infections. Today my dad went to a skilled nursing facility for rehab. My mom will join them there when she’s feeling better. I’m happy to say they’re doing better after all the craziness. And I thank God Greg is my friend. Even during this serious situation, he still got me to laugh.
Then there’s Karla. I’m laid off and money’s running out fast. She has been unbelievable, getting me to the grocery and pharmacy (and paying for it!) and giving advice without being too obnoxious about it. I have several relatives who my parents and I always say “Oh, they mean well…” about. Believe me, if we say that, it isn’t a compliment. I’m not really fond of people who mean well. I like people like Karla and Greg who aren’t helping out because of what’s in it for them.
My friends, you are the best. What about you? Do you have friends who have gone above and beyond the bounds of friendship for you? What about books where friends do anything for one another?

5 responses to “Friends

  1. Nancy, how scary! So glad your parents are okay. Good friends are the family you weren’t born into. I’m in an anthology that’s due out in January 2013 about four friends who call themselves sisters. I have such friends and am also blessed to have actual sisters that I also call friend. Great questions and i hope your parents continue to recover without incident.

  2. Oh, Nancy–I’m so glad for the follow up and will continue to keep all of you in my thoughts and send waves of “It’s GOT to get better” your way. So glad for your friends.

Leave a Reply

