Famous Lines of 2012

I’d like to say 2012 was a great year, but the last month and a half hasn’t been and neither were some other parts of the year. However, for the last couple of years, I’ve compiled a list of the most famous lines of the year (real and from my books and short stories).

 

#5: “Y’know, punk, if you’re gonna rob my sister, this is a ridiculous way to do it.” – Jay Galloway, heroine’s brother in “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless.”

 

#4: Ah – my parents. The more I am around them the more I realize how much I love them and how they are the two nicest people I know. I am sad that health problems led them to the hospital and a skilled nursing facility. Before they got sick, they came to my house on the weekends (before I got laid off. Again.).

Mom: “I got weighed on Nancy’s scale. It’s 115.”

Dad: “No, it’s 11:15.”

 

#3: My friend and cab driver and my parents went to the drive-thru at McDonald’s for breakfast. After waiting almost twenty minutes for their order, my friend went inside to check on it and was told “We can’t find the ingredients to make your order.”

 

 

#2: Silence – sometimes the most famous line of all. That look from a family member or friend who knows what you’re going through, but doesn’t want to say the wrong thing. They just want to let you know that they’re there if you need to talk – or not say anything at all.

 

The most famous and often-quoted line of 2012 is:

 

#1: Okay, big build-up first. My novella, “When Do the Bells Ring for Me?” got a tasteless rejection because the heroine mentioned her brother’s ex-wife in her wedding toast. (There were other reasons for the rejection, but the word tasteless was used in the rejection that was riddled with typos). Okay, I’m exaggerating for dramatic effect. Now I sit here typing on my laptop and wishing my life were that simple again. So, use your imagination here and picture my short, dark and funny cab driver friend listening to me read that letter, and then leaning back in the leather seat of the cab and saying, (with a smile and a twinkle in his brown eyes) “Just send her an e-mail and say, ‘I may be tasteless, but you can’t type. And then send her a picture of your finger.’”

–Nancy Goldberg Levine is the author of “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny” and “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless” available now on Amazon.com, as well as more than sixty short stories.

 

 

Leave a Reply

