Parents

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that my parents were in the hospital and are now in skilled nursing rehab and my life as I know it totally fell apart. My mom fell on New Year’s Eve, and was admitted to the hospital again. The nurse said she had a cerebral hemorrhage so I was terrified. I thought that was what Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords had. I sit here now looking at pictures of them from my digital camera and every time I talk to them, I love them more and more.
My friend drove me to the hospital this morning and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I didn’t expect to hear my mom talking and to find out that she’d eaten breakfast. But there she was, talking like her old self. I was thrilled to see her like that and I want to do whatever I can to make her life better for as long as she’s alive (which I hope will be a long time). She’s so funny and vibrant and wonderful. Her face lights up when I mention her favorite fast food place, McDonalds. She groans after she talks about having a party and inviting all of our friends, and then I ask if we can invite the hero of two weeks ago’s blog, Greg. “I guess,” she says. “But he’ll have to stay in the other room.” One of the workers at the hospital jokes about wanting to take her home.
Then there’s my dad. One of the workers at the skilled nursing home said he was so quiet that she wanted to call him Mickey because he was quiet as a mouse. He is, but in his quiet way, he draws people to him. I just talked to him and with all the crazy stuff going on, he wanted to know what I do about taking out the trash because he always did that for me.
January 2nd is the anniversary of their 63-year marriage. And I love them.

Leave a Reply

