No Place Like Home

If you have been following this blog, you know that my parents are in a skilled nursing facility for rehab. Today we learned that they may have to stay there and possibly sell their home.

I have been going back to the home where I grew up to bring them things and whenever I go there, I am flooded with memories. I grew up in Cincinnati, Ohio, in the suburb of Roselawn. I was an only child, so I relied on my imagination and as I grew up, I started to write stories. I still have friends who are “brothers” and “sisters,” and imaginary brothers and sisters in my characters as well.

Since the name of the blog is “Laugh With Me,” I’ll try to concentrate on funny memories of my home.

When I was about eight, I got a cat and had a “kitty wedding” between my cat, Sugar, and “Big Red,” an orange tom cat who used to hang around. I even had a kitty rabbi who officiated.

When my husband (then boyfriend) and I went on a hayride date, there was a “mock wedding,” so when he returned to my parents’ house, he carried me over the threshold.

We watched and listened to many a Cincinnati Reds baseball game.

There were many parties and lots of fun in the house where I grew up. There was always an assortment of friends who came to visit, and plenty of good food and memories.

I will miss my home, and I’m sure I’ll continue to write about it in my books.

What about you? Do you have memories of the home where you grew up? Do you write about it in your books?

Leave a Reply

