Back to work

I went back to work today, but in a different department on a temporary assignment called a detail. I’m also dealing with my parents going into a nursing home, cleaning out there house so it can be sold, etc. I have been off work for five months and things have not exactly worked out the way I planned.

I should have known that the day would be weird when my friend, who happens to be a cab driver, picked me up and we saw a huge lightning bolt in the sky. It also poured down rain and we saw more lightning bolts on the way in. I was reunited with my co-workers from the other department and saw a guy I used to work with on a different job who now works at the same place on night shift. Things were pretty normal after that since most of today was spent in training. But I felt like it was my first day on the job again since the work is so different. We did a little bit of work in the afternoon. Everyone in our department kind of felt the way I did, but the person training us said it would get easier once we actually started doing the work.

Can I do this? I’ll do the best I can until my ship actually comes in and people start buying my books in droves. Meanwhile, I’ll go to work with my short, dark…& funny friend and try to make sense of this all.

4 responses to “Back to work

  1. Gretchen

    Glad to see all went well today. My husband went to your parents home to deposit some trash for pickup tomorrow. We appreciate being able to do this, since our budget is so very tight right now.

  2. janemp

    Hope you are liking the job. I attempted to go onto your latest blog post (shopping without your parents) because I can relate but it didn’t allow me to!

    • That’s weird, Jane. Thanks for trying — I’ll try to send it to you this way because one of my friends has trouble getting the blogs. She gets ones from a couple of weeks ago… (sigh) Nancy Shopping without my parents I just got back from Wal-Mart. The last time I was there, my parents were with me and my friend and our favorite cab driver, Greg, took us there. Today, I had to shop alone (and without the ride from Greg). First of all, I shouldn’t be alone in Wal-Mart. Even when my parents went with me, I never got out of there without spending at least $100. The same thing happened today, but I really missed having my mom and dad with me. The worst part (besides them not being there) was that I really needed all the stuff I bought. And it was sad to tell the driver, who asked about them when she took me home, that they were now in a nursing home. I miss going to the McDonald’s with them (there’s one inside that Wal-Mart). And just shopping with them. My mom liked to shop; my dad always found a chair or bench somewhere and sat down. Of course, I thought of them while I was doing my shopping and bought them some things I thought they’d like such as dark chocolate truffles and flavored Tootsie Rolls. When I got home, I looked at the old photos I found at their old house last week and thought of how much I love them. I love the old pics of my dad because he looks like Edward Hermann (who played Richard Gilmore on “Gilmore Girls.”) And in some of the pictures my mom looks like…me. I wish we could go shopping again…and to McDonald’s.

Leave a Reply

