When Nancy Met Jon

Thirty-nine years ago, on March 29, 1974, I met my husband, Jonathan Levine. We dated for six years and were married for twenty-one years. He passed away from lung cancer on August 14, 2001.

Many, many things have happened since the night we met and as I sit here typing this,  I wish with all of my heart that he were here to help me with troubles that sometimes seem insurmountable right now. I wish he were here to see what’s happening with the e-book market. I think he was ahead of his time because years ago, he wanted me to have a website with book excerpts on it.

I’m drawn back to that night, thirty-nine years ago when my parents drove me to a Friday night service at the University of Cincinnati’s Hillel House. It was pouring down rain and the bad weather mirrored my mood. At the ripe old age of eighteen, I had decided that I was never going to meet Mr. Right. I read a poem at the creative service and afterward, Mr. Right came up and started talking to me. He said he would call me and two weeks later we had our first date. He was wonderful and funny and good-looking and I will love him and remember him forever.

I know he’s here in spirit, looking down on me (and wondering how I got into such a mess), but it isn’t the same as having him there to hold me when I’m crying in the night because of the things that have happened to my parents in the last five months or to celebrate with when my book goes live on Amazon.

 

Nancy Goldberg Levine is the author of “Three Srikes—You’re in Love” (short story collection), “Sweeter Than W(h)ine,” “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny,” and “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” which are all available on Amazon at http://www.amazon.com/Nancy-Goldberg-Levine/e/B009RV0N50/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Leave a Reply

