Shopping without my parents

I just got back from Wal-Mart. The last time I was there, my parents were with me and my friend and our favorite cab driver, Greg, took us there. Today, I had to shop alone (and without the ride from Greg).

First of all, I shouldn’t be alone in Wal-Mart. Even when my parents went with me, I never got out of there without spending at least $100. The same thing happened today, but I really missed having my mom and dad with me. The worst part (besides them not being there) was that I really needed all the stuff I bought. And it was sad to tell the driver, who asked about them when she took me home, that they were now in a nursing home.

I miss going to the McDonald’s with them (there’s one inside that Wal-Mart). And just shopping with them. My mom liked to shop; my dad always found a chair or bench somewhere and sat down. Of course, I thought of them while I was doing my shopping and bought them some things I thought they’d like such as dark chocolate truffles and flavored Tootsie Rolls.

When I got home, I looked at the old photos I found at their old house last week and thought of how much I love them. I love the old pics of my dad because he looks like Edward Hermann (who played Richard Gilmore on “Gilmore Girls.”) And in some of the pictures my mom looks like…me. I wish we could go shopping again…and to McDonald’s.

4 responses to “Shopping without my parents

  1. I understand, Nancy. My mother is 81, and although she is still in her home, and mostly mobile, we can’t do the things we used to do together. Your life changed quite a bit in two years; I see that mine is going in that direction with my own mother, and I know our lives will be very different two years from now.

    Do you see your parents often? When my husband’s father was in a nursing home, I think he saw him more than when he lived at home.

    • Thanks, Maddie, for the kind words. I’ve been checking out your blog–love the baseball one and the one about the ants. I have some ants in the den where the computeris and I’m trying to figure out a way to get rid of them without using fhemicals that are harmful to humans and pets because I have a cat. I read in a home remedies book that hot sauce works. I also need something to get rid of aunts (or aunt, in this case)–told you I was silly.

      I went back to work three weeks ago fora temp. assignment and am hoping to go back to my regular department when this assignment is over. When I was off for five months, I got to visit my parents more, but now, I have to go on Saturday or Sunday so I don’t get to see them as much as I’d like. Which is too bad==I really moiss them. I found some of their old photos from the 40s at the house and I love all of my mom’s captions.

  2. I understand, Nancy. When I go past something George liked and I no longer buy, that hurts. Memories all over.

Leave a Reply

