Happy Father’s Day to my dad

Wow– I haven’t posted since May 12th –sorry– I freaked out over all the crazy stuff that’s been happening and in the middle of it all–I went back to work.

I would like to salute my dad, Charles Goldberg (Charlie) on Father’s Day. He was born on Feb 27, 1920, in Cincinnati and grew up in the Price Hill area. Right now, I’m having trouble locating his birth certificate. I just found out that in high school, he worked on the school paper. I always wondered where I got my writing ability and now I know. He was a medic in World War II, and I found pictures and newsletters from his army unit. He was a liberator of the concentration camps in Germany–a hero.

In his yearbook, his description was “still waters run deep.” My mom always added “and muddy on the bottom.” He met my mom at a wedding, and they were married January 2, 1949. The best day of their life was when I was born–not. My dad is quiet, but he’s funny and has some great stories to tell.

As I sit here typing this, I’m listening to Leiber & Stoller’s song “Neighborhood.” There are so many good memories from their house on Sunnybrook Drive (in the neighborhood of Roselawn) –of him coming home with a talking doll that I wanted, trying to hide the box so I wouldn’t see it. I remember making “commercials” on an old reel-to-reel tape recorder, and my dad was in some of them. He also did a great imitation of Nelson Rockefeller. Then there was the first date I had with my boyfriend (later to be husband) who had a friend in elementary school named Charlie Goldberg.

Happy Father’s Day!

Nancy Goldberg Levine is the author of “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny,” “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” “Sweeter Than W(h)ine” and “Three Strikes–You’re in Love”, a short story collection. She is working on a sequel to “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” as well as a sequel to her first romance novel, “Tempting Jonah.” Her e-books are available on Amazon.com

One response to “Happy Father’s Day to my dad

  1. Karla

    I think the family history is great! I love reading it. Do more!

Leave a Reply

