Meet the Author/Interview a character

Welcome to the Meet the Author/Interview a Character Blog Hop from August 26th-August 28th.
There is a $50 grand prize of an Amazon gift card–visit http://www.KaseyDean.com to enter. In addition, I am giving away a $5 Amazon gift card to the first person to make a meaningful comment. There is a code word in the blog–use it in your post to enter the drawing. So without further ado:
Today, I’m interviewing Dr. Rafe Farber, the hero of my sweet contemporary romantic comedy, “Sweeter Than W(h)ine.”
NL: How did you and Dina meet?
RF: I was a doctor at the skilled nursing facility where she was a patient. At first, I didn’t like her because she kept talking about her friend, that shining star of cab drivers, Jay Galloway, and she kind of whined a lot, but after we shared sparkling cider and gifts on New Year’s Eve, I realized she might just be right for me.
NL: So, what’s happened to the two of you since the end of the book?
RF: We adopted our son, Robert Jay, and we love spending time with him and Dina’s parents and our friends.
NL: Who do you most admire and why?
RF: My father, Moe Farber. We were always close and when he passed away, I missed all the father/son things we did like going to Cincinnati Red Wolves baseball games. I even have the autographed bat I got from Seymour Sellkirk on Bat Day. I hope to pass all of those things on to Robert Jay.
NL: Do you have a bucket list? If so, what’s the top item on your list?
RF: Not really, but I would say travel would be at the top of the list. When the baby is older, I’d like to take a family trip to Israel.
NL: Here are a few of Rafe’s favorite things:
Food: Chinese
Dessert: Anything chocolate—good chocolate, like Godiva
Color: Green
TV show: Seinfeld
Alcoholic Beverage: w(h)ine
Sports Team: Cincinnati Red Wolves
NL: Do you have any questions for me?
RF: Yes, I’ll turn this around…who do you most admire and why?
NL: Okay, but you aren’t going to like my answer. These days, it’s the real-life Jay Galloway because he saved my parents’ lives and he makes me laugh even when there’s nothing to laugh about. That’s the first answer that came to mind, but there are a lot of other people I admire, like my parents and my best friend, Karla.
RF: Do you have a bucket list and what’s at the top of your list?
NL: I’d like to start selling some of these e-books!
RF (laughs): Who is your favorite author and why?
NL: There are too many to mention—and a lot of new ones I’ve discovered since I got the Kindle for PC app. I can’t pick just one.
RF: If you could be one of your characters, who would it be and why?
NL: Way to ask the tough questions, Doc. I think I’d like to be Franci from the romantic comedy/mystery series I’m working on now. She’s a caterer, she loves the Cincinnati Red Wolves, and she gets to help her PI boyfriend solve crimes. If I weren’t a writer, I’d love to be a cook.
RF: Here are a few of Nancy’s favorite things:
Code Word: Tasteless
Food: Pasta
Dessert: Hot fudge sundae
Color: Blue
Alcoholic Beverage: W(h)ine
TV Show: Gilmore Girls
Sports Team: Cincinnati Reds
Cab driver: Real-life Jay Galloway
Thanks, Nancy, for answering my questions.
NL: Thanks for answering mine.
Excerpt from “Sweeter Than W(h)ine” and link:

“Bastardo’s Taxi,” Dina said, when her phone rang. Her aunt Florence had been trying to get in touch with her, although she’d never been close with her or her cousins. Aunt Florence kept them at arms’ length because she was wealthy. Her cousins had attended the prestigious private Ida Malloy Academy. Now she’d decided she wanted to be close, so Dina answered the phone funny to throw her off the track.
“Hey, you! It’s Jay Bastardo.”
“Hello, Jay Bastardo,” Dina said, brightening at the sound of her friend’s voice. “Happy New Year.”
“Happy New Year. When do you think they’ll spring you from that place, honey?”
“I don’t know, sugar,” Dina said. She teased him for calling her “honey,” but when she looked outside, she felt depressed. It was a gray, cloudy day, but she wanted to be out there, not sitting around in a skilled nursing facility. “I wish they’d spring me tonight so I could use those tickets I bought for your concert.”
“I wish you could be there, too,” Jay said, sounding sincere.
“I usually don’t do much for New Year’s Eve. Either I go to my mom and dad’s or they come to see me and stay overnight. Are you doing anything special after the concert?” She meant did he have a date and hoped that if he did, he’d have better luck than he’d had lately. She wanted all her friends to be happy.
“Nope. I thought I’d give the girls a break and go stag tonight. What about you? It must be pretty exciting there in the nursing home, y’know?”
Dina laughed. “You always know just the right thing to say. I have sort of a date with your boss’s nephew.”
“So next time I see you you’ll be saying stuff like ‘Jay, this cannot go on?’”
“Now Jay, I’d never say anything like that to you,” Dina said. “And I hope I’ll see you soon. It’s pretty lonely out here in the middle of nowhere.” She was far away from her home base. Wellstone Village was way out in the boonies in the town of Cliff Field.
“I’m really busy because of the holidays, but maybe things will calm down and I can come out for another visit before you get to go home. I have a feeling it won’t be long.”
“I hope you’re right. “ ’Bye, Jay, and Happy New Year.”
“Happy New Year!”
Dina ate her supper, a salmon patty, rice pilaf, broccoli and Jell-O cake for dessert, had a pain pill and waited for Rafe. He showed up at about six, with presents. Then he took them all out of a brown paper bag – eight presents. She thought of the Chanukah song, “Oh, Chanukah!” Instead of candles, there were eight presents. One for each night…they shed a sweet light… Every gift but one was small, and they were all meticulously wrapped.
“Did you wrap these yourself?” she asked, positive that a guy would never have such nice presentation when it came to presents.
She didn’t miss his sheepish grin and shrug of his broad shoulders. “Guilty. I got to be good at that when I wrapped presents for my niece…” He held back, as if wanting to say more, but not knowing how. Dina didn’t miss the catch in his voice. Something had happened to his niece and he didn’t want to talk about it.
Message understood, she thought, slipping into grief counselor mode for a moment. “They look like you had them wrapped at Macy’s or something. I feel bad because I’m not exactly able to go out and buy you anything.”
“That’s all right,” Rafe said, back to his teasing. “Money will be fine. Or a good bottle of wine, or some expensive chocolate.”
Buy on Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/Sweeter-Than-ine-ebook/dp/B00BGO2F66/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1377484115&sr=1-3
Be sure to visit the other authors on this blog!

10 responses to “Meet the Author/Interview a character

  1. Trix

    I always loved GILMORE GIRLS, too! (Have you ever wondered why Scott Patterson has never found a decent role since? Apparently he played minor-league baseball, too…)

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Trix–good luck on the hop. I do wonder why Scott Patterson never got a decent role after that. He’s great–if they ever make “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny” into a movie (yeah. right), he’d be great as Jay Galloway. I didn’t know he played minor league baseball–love baseball.

  3. I love that you got interviewed back! Great interview. 🙂 And awesome excerpt. I’m going to love this one!

  4. So glad you liked it, Mia. It was fun being interviewed by the good doctor. Glad you enjoyed the excerpt, too. THat book was fun to write.

  5. nikki flannery

    That’s a really great interview. I think it’s great to get personal when you interview isn’t it??? Would you rather repair you questions ahead of time or would you just go with the flow????

    nflannery0@gmail.com

  6. LaTanya Lawson

    Fabulous interview!! Rate asked some great questions, now we know a litter bit more about you the person opposed to the author in you…

    caiidynsmommie at gmail dot com

  7. Thanks for stopping by, Nikki, and good luck with the hop. I have been interviewed and answered the questions ahead of time, and have also gone with the flow, and I like both.

  8. Thanks for stopping by, LaTanya. Rafe knows how to ask the right questions. Good luck with the hop!

  9. Great interview! I loved the way you interviewed him and then he interviewed you! I didn’t think it was tasteless at all. 😉 I’ve so enjoyed this blog hop! I think this is the first one I’ve completed in it’s entirety and I will make sure I always complete them in the future. I’ve found so many new to me authors that I can’t wait to start buying their books that my wallet is screaming in pain already! btw…love your play on w(h)ine!

    • Glad you enjoyed the interview and the blog hop, Tammy. They’re a lot of fun and I always find a ton of new authors. I’m always afraid I’ll download too many books and my Kindle for PC app will explode–LOL! Thanks for the kind words and good luck in the hop!

Leave a Reply

