I refuse to lose–or Happy Anniversary Messrs. Short, Dark…& Funny & Tall, Tan…& Tasteless

October 13th, this Sunday, is the first anniversary of my two e-books, “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny” and “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless.” Since the name of this blog is “Laugh With Me,” I’d like to give you a beautiful, happy ending.
I’d like to say that from the first day, people rushed to their Kindles and computers to order these books and that all of the reviews were five stars. They didn’t, and they weren’t.
I’d like to say that it’s the Indie Book of the Year. It’s not.
I’d like to say that real life didn’t come crashing down with a bang to mess up my writing career. It did.
I love my characters in this series, even if some people don’t. They’re regular people like you and me. They’re funny and quirky and I love them. I’ve got more characters who want their stories told.
I can tell you that I still miss my husband, Jon, every day, and am glad to have the memories of all of our time together.
I can tell you that the real life Jay Galloway is still is funny as ever and I am so grateful to have him and all of my other friends at this time.
My mom and dad are in a nursing home but they are still here and I treasure every moment that I talk to them or see them. My mom (who is also, short, dark and funny) still has her sense of humor.
And I’m still here. Many, many times I wanted to give up writing. I decided it was time to grow up, and quit living in a dream world. I can’t. I see friends of mine (I knew them when) who have successful writing careers, and if they can do it, why can’t I?

Nancy Goldberg Levine is the author of “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny,” “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” “Sweeter Than W(h)ine,” and “Three Strikes—You’re in Love,” a short story collection. If you aren’t one of the people who rushed to their Kindle to download “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny” when it was released last year, you can download it free on October 13. And watch of the sequel of “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” “Tasteless Holidays,” a holiday novella, coming soon (hopefully).

6 responses to “I refuse to lose–or Happy Anniversary Messrs. Short, Dark…& Funny & Tall, Tan…& Tasteless

  1. Gretchen Forde

    If there’s one thing I’ve learned in this life is to NEVER GIVE UP. Thank you for your writing and keep it up.

  2. Thanks so much, Gretchen! Onward and forward!

  3. Wonderful, Nancy! Never give up. Just do it. I love your outlook on life and your persistence. Thank you for the free book, and I purchased all of your others while I was there. 🙂 Have a fantastic day!

  4. JackieP

    You are never too old to go after what you want. It might not be an award winner, but as long as you enjoy what you do, its what you should do. Not everyone is going to enjoy what we write, but thats okay. You are far ahead of me as I haven’t published any books, yet. Soon I hope. Keep on writing! 🙂 I will have to check out your books now.

Leave a Reply

