Thank You!

Thanksgiving 2012…l was thankful to be alive, and for my wonderful parents and friends. l was about to take part in my first blog hop, and my first two ebooks had just gone live on Amazon a month before. My parents were still in relatively good health, and we’d just eaten a Thanksgiving dinner of chicken with all the trimmings. That chicken was the start of a downhill spiral for my parents and me.

Thanksgivnukah 2013…Chanukah and Thanksgiving are on the same day. l’m still thankful for my parents and my amazing friends and to be alive and so much more. The Monday after Thanksgiving last year, my friend, Greg, and l found my parents on the floor of the home where they’d lived for almost sixty years. Now they’re in a nursing home and l just got back from taking them a feast? of turkey with all the trimmings. The turkey sandwiches [thanks to Empire Kosher Meat and lzzy’s bread] were great. The sweet potatoes and cranberry sauce…not so much. The pumpkin pie bars that were supposed to be coffee house favorites were tasteless and expensive. The stuffing and dark chocolate, as well as the Starbucks coffee l had at the nursing home, were delicious. lt wasn’t really about the food, it was about being with my family members…real and fake.

l thank God that l am alive, and for my parents and friends. l thank the people at the nursing home for taking such great care of my parents because l can’t always be there. l thank my friend, Keith, who passed away earlier this year for being my friend and for painting the wonderful cover on my first ever romance novel. l thank Karla and Greg for being my friends and for everything you guys do for me and my parents, and all of my other friends for the same.

What are you thankful for?

4 responses to “Thank You!

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, Nancy! Like you I am super thankful for family and friends…and to have lived to see another day! Take care and enjoy your day!

  2. Karla

    I am also, always, thankful for my family and friends. I am thankful for everything in my life, the good and the bad. It’s made me who I am today and I wouldn’t have it any other way. What’s given or taken away, I accept. I just ask my friends, family and God to help me through when it’s too tough for me to do it on my own.

Leave a Reply

