The truth about cats and dogs

I’m writing this blog in memory of my friend, Greg’s, German Shepard, who he’s had for almost ten years, who passed away earlier in the week. I am so sad about this, but since the name of this blog is “Laugh With Me,” I’ll try to tell some funny stories about furry friends I’ve had over the years.

First of all, the best pet movie of all time is, in my humble opinion, “My Dog Skip.” I cry every time I watch it the friendship that develops between Skip and his owner. I tried to add some pics in here, but it’s not working for me, but you can visit my alter ego, Vi LaNance, on Pinterest to see some of our favorite pets…http://www.pinterest.com/vilanance/
My husband and I loved the book that inspired the movie also…The author, Willie Morris, also wrote a sequel called “My Cat Spit McGee,” which was great, too.

Second, I admit I’m a cat person, but when I was a kid, I had a dog for about a week. He was an adorable mutt, but my dad’s friend and boss at the time lived up the street. My dog tore up his boss’s wife’s rose garden so my dad had to either get rid of the dog or his job. Since then, we’ve always had cats. My first cat was Barney, a Siamese who I named after Barney Rubble. After he passed, we had Sugar, a pink and gray cat. We also had Sam, from Sugar’s first litter of kittens and later Boo Boo, who lived to be 18.

When my husband, Jon, and I moved to our condo, he wanted a dog since he couldn’t have one as a kid because of his mom’s allergies. “Who’s going to walk the dog every day and take care of him or her while we’re at work?” I pointed out. So we decided to get a cat. We found Stormy at the SPCA. She was black and white and sometimes she wasstormy. She loved to eat salad and her favorite singer was Roy Orbison.

When Stormy passed away, six months after my husband died of cancer, I wanted another cat right away and found Jack Funelli (Jackie), who I named after a character on the soap opera “Ryan’s Hope.” He was big, gray…& funny. He hated to hear me sing and would meow loudly as if to say, “Well, that was appalling,” a la Simon Cowell. The only song he liked to hear me sing was “Take Me Out to the Ballgame” since he was also a baseball fan. Jackie passed away while I was in the hospital recovering from knee surgery and pneumonia. It took me over a year to make the decision to get another cat.

I found Jay on the Internet and the fact that he just happened to have the same first name as the hero of my book, “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny” had nothing to do with my decision. He’s also black and white (mostly white) and is much different from Jackie. He doesn’t mind listening to me sing, and he doesn’t like tuna or beef. I’ve had some adventures with him already (some things were a little too exciting), and I’ll have to see what the future brings for us.

If you have any favorite cat or dog books or movies, leave a comment. Also, please share any of your favorite pet stories if you’d like to.

Nancy Goldberg Levine is a cat lover and the author of four e-books, “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny,” “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” “Sweeter Than W(h)ine,” and “Three Strikes–You’re in Love,” a short story collection. She hopes to have the sequel to “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” “Tasteless Holidays,” available someday soon.

Leave a Reply

