My writing process

I was tagged by Susana Ellis and asked to describe my writing process: So, without further ado (and if it doesn’t put you to sleep)–LOL–here goes:What am I working on?

I’m writing a fiction story with my alter-ego, Vi LaNance, called “More Than Just a Dog.” We started writing it when my friend, Greg’s, dog passed away. I heard so many stories from my family and friends and we wanted to get that emotion down on the page. We just started Chapter Three, and are not sure how long it will be, probably novella length.

How does my work differ from others in the genre?
This particular story is different for me because I’m used to writing sweet contemporary romantic comedy. I’m used to a happy ending, and we’re going to make sure this story has one. The books I’ve written so far are different because the characters aren’t necessarily beautiful or tall, dark and handsome–I try to make them more like people you know, the average Joe or Jane who has the same kind of problems you and I do.

Why do I write what I write?

I had this discussion with someone at work who wondered why my characters didn’t have high-paying jobs and live in big mansions, etc. As I said above, I like to write about the average Joe or Jane. Those are the kind of books I want to read, although I like reading about people with a different lifestyle as well. If they have everything at the beginning of the story, though, there’s no reason to read on. For example, if I write about a beautiful wealthy woman who seemingly has no problems, I have to give her some conflict. Maybe she doesn’t get along with her family and is trying to be independent.
I love romantic comedy because I love to laugh. If I didn’t laugh, I’d be crying and no one really wants to see that.

How does my writing process work?
I try to write something every day, but there are always interruptions, especially in the last few years. At the end of 2012, my parents had to go into a nursing home after almost sixty years of living independently. I have a day job, and even though it’s seasonal, sometimes I’m exhausted when I get home and don’t feel like doing anything except sitting in front of the TV and watching my favorite shows. The first three months of this year and the end of last year have been pretty rough on me, too. It seems like something from real life always needs my attention like busted pipes, the flu, or other troubles. But my goal is to try and write something every day.
Sometimes I’ll get an idea while I’m at work (which is what happened with “More Than Just a Dog”). I couldn’t wait to get home and call on my alter-ego so we could get the words down on the paper. I love it when that happens, or when books practically write themselves like “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny.”
Nancy Goldberg Levine is the author of “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny,” “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless,” “Sweeter Than W(h)ine,” and “Three Strikes…You’re in Love,” a short story collection. Her books are available on Amazon, http://www.amazon.com/Nancy-Goldberg-Levine/e/B009RV0N50/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

4 responses to “My writing process

  1. Nice post, Nancy! It’s great to hear what other author’s writing processes are!

Leave a Reply

