Snippet Sunday 3/30/2014 A tasteless snippet

In honor of the 40th anniversary of meeting my late husband, Jon, on March 29, 1974, I’m posting this snippet from my newest e-book, “Tasteless Holidays.” Scotty is trying to apply for a job since he’s been laid off…Next week it’s back to Nan and Harry. The hero of this book and “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless” and “Tasteless Holidays” is loosely based on my husband. As my mother-in-law said about our marriage after my husband passed away, “It was a beautiful love story.” We were never lucky enoughj to have children, except the fur kind. But if we had, it would have gone something like this… (Edited to fit the line limit)
Blurb:
For better or for worse…
Newlyweds Lorrie and Scotty Caldwell just got married in November. Right before Christmas, Scotty tells Lorrie that he’s been laid off from his job as a paralegal. Lorrie has just found out that she’s been laid off from her job as a beautician as well.
Baby Makes Three?
After all this news, Lorrie’s pregnant?
Can Lorrie and Scotty survive Lorrie’s all-day morning sickness, and Scotty’s temp job working with an old flame, without driving each other crazy? Will they realize that they have each other, and a new baby on the way, at the most wonderful time of the year?

Snippet:
Scotty sat at the computer in the family room, filling out his on-line application to work at the IRS. Lorrie sat beside him, looking so cute in her “1-800-BadKitty” nightgown.
“Scotty,” she said sweetly. “Aren’t you finished with that yet?”
“Just a couple more questions to go. I just have to promise them our first born child…”
There went the waterworks again. “What’s wrong, sweetheart?”
“Nothing!”
He put his arms around Lorrie, pulling her close. “Now, tell me what’s the matter.”
“I told you, it’s nothing.”
“Then let’s go into the bedroom and…”
Lorrie smiled before giving him a cheerful, “Whatever.”
Scotty tried to do a James Brown imitation, but he didn’t impersonate the sixties soul singer very well. Still, he got Lorrie to reveal her sweet, sexy smile again. “That’s my girl.”
Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00J7UDUEC

Note: As I edit this snippet, I have to say that I just got back from the nursing home where my parents are. I spent all day and night there yesterday–my dad is not doing well and is getting Hospice care. I had big plans for my anniversary, but what better way to spend it than with the people who drove me to the event where I met my husband, my parents?

16 responses to “Snippet Sunday 3/30/2014 A tasteless snippet

  1. I doesn’t seem like an easy situation.

  2. mikeakin1

    I like it! 1 800 Bad Kitty…do you have a number 🙂 very good job!

  3. great snippet — sorry about your dad! 😦

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your father, but I did enjoy reading this snippet. I’m glad Scotty made Lorrie smile in the end. Great snippet!

  5. Loved the Bad Kitty nightgown. Great job!

  6. I’m having the waterworks, here. There is so much love in the snippet, in the intro, in the wrap-up. Thank you for sharing, Nancy.

  7. Love the snippet. Sorry to hear about your father.

Leave a Reply

