My dad Feb. 27, 1920-March 30, 2014

My dad, Charles (Charlie) Goldberg, passed away March 30, at the age of 94.
As I wrote this blog, I tried to think of one word to describe my dad. That word is “mensch” the Yiddish word for a good guy.
Together, he and my mom, Marian, made a great team. When I had a problem, they always had good advice for me and there was no problem they couldn’t solve. They always encouraged me with my writing.

I remember my dad making a big deal about a doll I wanted for Chanukah, trying to sneak it into the house so I wouldn’t notice.

I had lots of celebrity crushes and remember my dad (with my mom) driving me to:
1) The Vernon Manor where the Beatles stayed once when they were in Cincinnati to see if we could catch a glimpse of them
2)The Beatles concert at Crosley Field
3)Lunken Airport, when the Monkees came to town to see if I could see Peter Tork
4)The Monkees concert at Cincinnati Gardens
5)The Ohio State Fair to see Herman’s Hermits on the hottest day of the year

Later when I met the love of my life Jonathan (Jon) Levine and we had our first date, Jon told my dad that when he was growing up he had a friend named Charlie Goldberg.

My dad had a great work ethic and hardly ever took off even during the blizzard of 1977. He tried to get to his job in the credit department at Swallen’s, but even he had to admit defeat when he stepped outside into the wind and cold and snow.

He had a great sense of humor (I hope I inherited that from both my mom and my dad), and did a terrific Nelson Rockefeller impersonation.

Some of his favorite sayings were: “We’ll talk about it tomorrow,” “Well, that’s the way it is” and “I called somebody.”

He was a wonderful husband to my mom and a wonderful father to me.

Dad, we love you and we miss you!

10 responses to “My dad Feb. 27, 1920-March 30, 2014

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your father, this is a lovely post though.

    • Thanks for commenting and for your good wishes.

      • Judi

        Nancy, absolutely beautifully written. I am so glad you have such wonderful memories , because I have found memories are what matters. I try to create memories and traditions with my grandkids, because those stories are what they will have! Wishing you and your mom many hours of reminiscing, remembering lots of stories that will bring smiles to your faces. Sending you prayers and love, Judi

      • Thanks so much, Judi, for your kind words. We do have lots of good memories of my dad–he was the best.

  2. Gretchen

    I always considered your dad as one of my friends. He never let anything faze him. He always had a smile on his face and love in his heart. It drove me crazy that he never frowned or ever got mad. He was quiet and gentle with everyone who met him. He let his wife do the talking while he nodded and just smiled, like the Cheshire cat did in Alice in Wonderland. He will be missed.

  3. Lovely tribute to your dad, Nancy. I’m so very sorry for your loss. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. So sorry for your loss. You sure wrote a great tribute for a great man. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

