A-Z challenge for writers- A is for…

I’m participating in the A-Z challenge for writers–not sure if I can do this, but I’m going to try. When I signed up, I didn’t think I’d get yet another challenge in this already rough year when my dad passed away.

A is for Anniversary–On March 29, 1974, forty years ago, I met my future husband, Jonathan Levine. He passed away in 2001, but I will never forget that night. He was handsome and funny and I knew as soon as I saw him that he was “the one.”

I’ve written a lot of books and short stories (not all of them saw the light of publication), but the three heroes that come to mind when I think of Jon are:

Jimmy Morgan, great-grandfather of Jonah Morgan (of “Tempting Jonah” fame). I sold Jimmy and Ellie’s book to a small press publisher, but it was never printed because the publisher went out of business. I remember some of it, but not much, and lost the files in a fire in 2005. It was a friends become lovers story with some pretty hot love scenes. Jimmy was an Alpha male who looked like my Jon. He had a great sense of humor. Mild-mannered Ellie has to face challenges and learn to stand up for herself against a woman from Jimmy’s past who wants to destroy her.

Logan Brewster, hero of my short story, “Lottie and the Professor,” which was published in Romancing the Skyze,my first (and probably last) attempt at writing paranormal. Lottie is missing her late husband, Logan, when the record company he founded closes down. As she’s day-dreaming about her wonderful husband, he shows up with outfits from the 1960s, the decade when they met, and they make love.

Last (but not least), Scotty Caldwell, hero of “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless” and the sequel, “Tasteless Holidays.” I know he’s gotten a bad rap from some reviewers, but he really is loosely based on my husband. He’s funny, he can’t sing, he likes to read sea novels and legal thrillers, and he’s crazy about Lorrie–he just kept it hidden all the time because she kept saying she didn’t date friends, especially her brother’s best friend.
Well, that’s it for the letter A.

4 responses to “A-Z challenge for writers- A is for…

  1. Stephen Tremp

    Nice tribute to your husband. And you can do this A to Z Challenge! Its, well, a challenge. But I’ve been doing it since its inception and the reward is well worth the effort.

  2. What a sweet way to remember your late husband! He does live on in your characters. I’m sorry you lost the first story files–that’s no fun. Have fun with the A to Z Challenge!

Leave a Reply

