A-Z Challenge for Writers…H is for “Help!”

H is for “Help!”–The Beatles song and the movie “The Help.”

“Help!” I’ve been saying that a lot since November 2011. I thank my family and friends who have helped me get through all of the difficult times, from almost dying after I got pneumonia after knee surgery (surgery went fine, but I got pneumonia and slept for five days–doctors weren’t sure if I’d wake up), through my parents’ having to go into a nursing home to my dad’s death just last week. I might have to call upon you guys again for support as only you can give.

Think of the lyrics of the song. When I was younger, I really didn’t need anybody’s help. I had my parents, who were my biggest support system. But now those days are gone, and sometimes things are unbearable and I need help to get my feet back on the ground.

I loved the book and movie “The Help.” My favorite quote is this one and I have it hanging on my refrigerator, my bathroom mirror, and my printer. I say it to myself when I wake up every day and it usually helps.
“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”
Sometimes I need to remember that. We all do, I think.
Jay Galloway, hero of “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny” says this quote to Nan in my alter-ego, Vi LaNance’s book, “Nutsie in Disguise” (she just sent it to her publisher and he says it in a deleted scene)…
“You is kind. You is smart. You is important. You is not taking off work…” LOL, Jay! Maybe Vi’s editor will give you more lines again like she did with “Love in Disguise,” and Vi can put it back in. Nan needs to hear it (and so do I, especially when things get so awful I want to take a “mental health day”).

4 responses to “A-Z Challenge for Writers…H is for “Help!”

  1. Help! I need somebody. I sure do hate to ask for help. And “You is right!” It’s important to get the right messages into our minds. Enjoy the A to Z. Maria from “http://delightdirectedliving.blogspot.com/”

    • Thanks for stopping by, Maria…I agree, I hate to ask for help. Sometimes people say “Let me know if you need anything,” but don’t really want you to. And I constantly have to remind myself of that quote from “The Help.”

  2. When we’re young, we so easily turn to the people around us for help. But that gets driven out of us with the “buck up, suck it up, stand up on your own two feet” attitude. There’s no shame in asking for help. If we did it more, we’d probably get where we need to be a whole lot quicker. (I’m guilty as charged, of course.)

    I offer my condolences for your loss. The pain never goes away, but the edges will soften like sea glass.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Monica, and for your beautiful message. I’ve gotten those “ya gotta be tough” messages from people, too. (some were not so welcome, but from the person I’m thinking of, it was okay–LOL). Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

