A-Z challenge for writers…J is for Jay Galloway III

Jay is for Jay Galloway III, my cat.

I hadn’t planned on getting another cat after my cat, Jackie, passed away, but at work a person who was doing a detail in our department talked about getting another wiener dog and how she’d found a puppy on the Internet who had been abused and needed a home. I figured I’d look on the Internet, just to see if there were any cute kitties I liked.

I saw an adorable black and white kitten whose foster mom had named him “Jay.” Since the hero of my first e-book, “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny’s” name is Jay, I knew I had to have this cat. I adopted Jay on November 11, 2012. I tried to upload a photo of him, but I can’t figure out how to do that. He’s more white than black and has pink and black toes. He’s a big talker, like his “uncle,” the real-life Jay Galloway. When he meows, he sort of sounds like my old Siamese cat, Barney. He likes Special Kitty cat food from Wal-Mart, or Meow Mix. Like Jackie, he’s a Cincinnati Reds fan and listens to the ballgames with me.

Sometimes he’ll sleep on me, but most of the time, he has things to do, so he’ll sleep in another room or at the bottom of the bed. He’s been sleeping at the bottom of the bed since last week, when his “poo-pa” (my dad) passed away.

Jackie used to hate it when I sang, but Jay isn’t too particular about that. He watches all my favorite TV shows with me like “Dancing with the Stars,” “The Bachelor/Bachelorette,” “American Idol” and “The Goldbergs.” And he loves to “use” the computer–translation: mess it up so I have to straighten out whatever he did when he pressed the wrong button.

I love him!

2 responses to “A-Z challenge for writers…J is for Jay Galloway III

  1. thank you for sharing… i would be nothing without my animals and wife of course. 🙂

    Thank you for being part of the “AtoZ Challenge”, please stop on over to my site[s] and say “Hello”!
    Comment/Follow/Etc.

    Jeremy [Retro]
    AtoZ Challenge Co-Host [2014]

    Old is the New Cool…
    [Being-Retro]

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Jeremy–glad you liked the post. I’ll check out your sites!

Leave a Reply

