Snippet Sunday 4/13–Jay’s dog–tissue alert again

I can’t believe we forgot to post this! I guess I’ve been so busy with writing, cleaning for Passover and missing my dad that I forgot. We skipped a little bit and now we’re up to the day of the memorial service for Bulldog…
Reese sits down next to me and looks into my eyes. I know I look awful, but she doesn’t seem to care. “Jay,” she says. “I don’t think there’s one person who wouldn’t forgive you if you didn’t go to work today.”
“I’ve got to go, honey. Neither rain, nor snow, nor gloom of night blah blah blah…”
She laughs and then her expression turns serious again. “That’s one of the reasons I love you. You’re still making jokes, even though Bulldog is gone. And you show up for work no matter what. That doesn’t mean I don’t worry about you, though.” She sighs and stares out the window. “It’s just as well. I have to go the doctor later anyway.”
I want to start crying. I wish I could stay home because I know this is going to be a tough day. I get up, grab my jacket out of the closet, and throw it on. Then I hug my wife and go to work.
Any comments would be appreciated because we’re hoping to get it on Amazon soon. We just need a cover and we’ll have to upload at the library’s computer because mine is too slow.

4 responses to “Snippet Sunday 4/13–Jay’s dog–tissue alert again

  1. They should give funeral time for pet loss…

  2. They really should. I know so many people who have lost pets and had to take off. Knowing Jay, he probably would work anyway even though it would be hard. Thanks for reading!

  3. Folks definitely work through grief differently. What works for one may not work for another. If I didn’t work from home, I would have had to take time off when my Yoda passed away in November. So painful.

Leave a Reply

