A-Z Challenge for writers…M is for…Marian

M is for Marian Goldberg, my mom. She was married to my dad, Charlie, for 64 years. He passed away on March 30.
I’m probably mis-quoting this but there’s a quote from “Gilmore Girls” when Rory talks about her mom in her valedictorian speech. “My mom always encouraged me to be whoever I wanted to be…she didn’t realize that the person I most wanted to be was her.” That’s true for me and my mom as well.

My mom has a great sense of humor, and she’s nice. Even now that she’s in a nursing home instead of her own home, she’s still nice, and still has her sense of humor.

I have several characters based on my mom. My favorite is Stella Solomon from “Sweeter Than W(h)ine.” Here’s an excerpt:
“Who was that?” Dina’s mom, who had come over for a visit, asked.
“Dr. Farber…Rafe.”
“Oh?”
“Mom, don’t get your hopes up. There’s nothing to it. He just called to see how I was doing and to invite me to a singles dinner party.”
“Oh?”
Her mom’s grin was wide; her eyes sparkled. “Mo-om.”
“He asked you for a date, y’know. And he’s a doctor.”
“Well, since you’re trying to talk like Jay, maybe I’ll ask Rafe if I can bring him as my date,” Dina threatened.
“You wouldn’t do that. You always say he’s like your brother, and I don’t think you’d want to date your brother.”
“You know me too well,” Dina said, hugging her mom and pulling her close. “That’s one of the reasons I love you both so much. I still might invite Jay to one of the dinners, though. Maybe he’d meet somebody.”
“That’s possible but you need to concentrate on you.” Her mom hugged her back and they broke apart.
Mom, I do love you and I’m going to keep trying to make you and dad proud of me!

4 responses to “A-Z Challenge for writers…M is for…Marian

  1. Gretchen

    I always loved your mother. She is funny and very smart. I miss talking to her. She always found something to laugh about and never lied about anything that I know of.

  2. Lovely. A really interesting post. Thank you so much, nice to follow and connect through atozchallenge.
    http://aimingforapublishingdeal.blogspot.co.uk

  3. Glad you liked my post, Charlotte–thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

