Happy Anniversary snippet 6/15/14

I don’t believe this. The conspiracy and Arthur Idis are definitely out to get me. This is the third time I’ve tried to publish this post, only to have it disappear. And Arthur has moved in.

June 15th would have been my 34th wedding anniversary. I have many good memories of the day, and my life with my husband, Jon.

Happy anniverary, Jon, I miss you.

Here’s an excerpt from “Mr. Tall, Tan…& Tasteless.” The hero, Scotty, is loosely based on Jon…
This scene takes place at Jay Galloway’s wedding. His sister, Lorrie, is about to give a toast. Her original toast mentioned Jay’s ex wife, and got a “tasteless” rejection from an editor. Thanks to my writing friends, I re-wrote the toast…
Cheers!

“First of all,” Lorrie said. “I’d like to welcome Reese and her dad to the Galloway family. Jay, I’m sorry Mom and Dad aren’t here in person to see this day. I know they’re here in spirit. I love you so much, and I always want you to have the best…” Jay saw her eyes fill with tears, and with love for him.
“I said I wouldn’t cry, but it’s too late now. For those of you who don’t know us, I was going to tell you a long, involved story about my brother and all the sacrifices he made for me after our mom and dad died.”
Jay gave her the Galloway eye roll, hoping she wouldn’t.
“But that would be tasteless and boring. I’ll just make this short and sweet. Since I’m a beautician, I want to say, Jay and Reese, life is like a bad hair day. You cut those out, and only remember the good hair days. To the greatest brother a girl could have, and his wonderful wife.”
Jay got up and gave Lorrie a kiss on the cheek. When he spoke, his voice was husky. “Thanks, Sis.”

18 responses to “Happy Anniversary snippet 6/15/14

  1. I haven’t read the one about the the ex-wife but I’m sure this one is much better.

  2. Ally

    Good snippet. Happy Anniversary!

  3. siobhanmuir

    Sweet snippet, Nancy. 🙂

  4. Gem

    Great toast. Fantastic snippet!

  5. A lovely snippet, Nancy. I hope you have many happy memories of your “good hair days.”

  6. I love the good hair days idea. (And also Jay’s eye roll. LOL!)

  7. Thanks, Ally–it was a good day, but I’m exhausted.

  8. Lovely stuff. Easy to imagine being in that room.

  9. What a lovely snippet. I love the comparison of life to a bad hair day. It’s so true!

Leave a Reply

