Dear Jon

Dear Jon: I am writing this on the 13th anniversary of your moving to your new address, in heaven. I wish I could see you and talk to you, but I’ll have to do it this way.
First, I’m sorry I bought a salad today–I know how much you always hated salad. At least I didn’t get cole slaw. I found out pretty soon after I met you that you hated it. I ordered barbecue on a bun with cole slaw when we had lunch with your grandmother and she had them take it away because of your aversion.
Second, I love you and miss you every day. I’ve been trying to think of funny stories about you since yesterday. There was the hayride we went to when they had the mock wedding (that’s when I got my first kiss from you, too) and when you brought me home, you carried me over the threshold at my mom’s house, and then called your dad to tell him that we got married. Anyone who reads this who knew Jon and his dad can picture his stern father, who kind of looked like Henry Kissinger saying “Jon–where are you? What did you do?”
There are so many little things I remember like the way you called the department store Elder Beerman Younger Beerman and how much fun me, you and my parents had a baseball games, and just hanging out here and at their house.
As my mom used to see in our prayers at Friday night dinner, “We miss you, Jon, and we’ll always love you.”

One response to “Dear Jon

  1. Gentle hugs, Nancy. I think it’s lovely you write to your husband. When we lose someone special to us, we have to keep those memories alive. I hope today is filled with love for the one who gave such love to your life.

Leave a Reply

