Snippet Sunday 9/21/14/Holly needs a vacation

Here’s the next installment of “The Holly, the Ivy…& the Menorah”. One of my 3200 problems that have been plaguing me this year is over (knock on wood). 3199 to go.
This scene is pretty raw and I skipped a couple of paragraphs to get to it. Any feedback is much appreciated.
“Do you mind helping me in the kitchen?” Holly asked Payton. It was just like her little sister to garner all the male attention in the room.
“Not at all,” Payton said, with a smile that revealed his dimples once again.
Holly led him to her favorite room in the house. When she wasn’t working or reading, she liked to cook. She refilled a ceramic tray with potato pancakes, spooning applesauce and sour cream into ramekins. She put antique serving spoons into the ramekins and watched Payton, who was studying her display of vacation destination photos.
“These are something,” Payton said. “Have you been to all these places?”
“No,” Holly admitted. “I was in high school when we went on our last vacation. Then there was college and law school and work. Nowadays if I want to go somewhere, I just read about it in a book.”

16 responses to “Snippet Sunday 9/21/14/Holly needs a vacation

  1. I like the careful details like the antique serving spoons, great snippet!

  2. Oh, she does need a vacation! Enjoyed the details and the easy banter between the characters.

  3. She definitely does, Karen. Thanks for your comments.

  4. “Nowadays if I want to go somewhere, I just read about it in a book.”
    She hit the nail on the head, escape.
    That’s why I write.
    Can I send Holly a copy of one of my books? I’ll sign it for her!

  5. I have to do that, too, since I can’t afford a vacation right now. Sure, send away! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. She definitely sounds like she needs a vacation! I love her display of destination photos — sort of a wishing wall.

  7. Great snippet. Sounds like she really needs a vacation. LOL

  8. I hope she ends up on a vacation soon—maybe with Payton? 😉

  9. Wow that last statement is really sad. She really needs a holiday somewhere far away.

  10. She sure does–thanks for stopping by, Linda.

Leave a Reply

