***New release***, catching up, giveaway

I am pleased to announce that after many trials and tribulations, including some computer glitches, “Silver Dreidels,” my sweet contemporary Chanukah short story collection, is now available for purchase on Amazon. Here’s the link: B00TG019R8

And here’s an excerpt:
Holly led him to her favorite room in the house. When she wasn’t working or reading, she liked to cook. She refilled a ceramic tray with potato pancakes, spooning applesauce and sour cream into ramekins. She put antique serving spoons into the ramekins and watched Payton, who was studying her display of vacation destination photos.
“These are something,” Payton said. “Have you been to all these places?”
“No,” Holly admitted. “I was in high school when we went on our last vacation. Then there was college and law school and work. Nowadays if I want to go somewhere, I just read about it in a book.”
“Yellowstone,” Payton said, picking up one of the framed prints. “I’ve been there. I’d love to go back. And you should take some time…”
“Maybe I will,” Holly said. “Someday.”
He smiled. The sight of that smile almost made Holly melt. “All work and no play makes Holly a dull girl.”

Last year was a rough year for me and 2015 has been hard, too. At the end of the year (December 30) my co-worker and friend, Cliff, passed away after a bout with cancer. My alter ego, Vi LaNance, has a character who’s loosely based on him in her upcoming release, “Nutsie in Disguise.”

When I first met Cliff, our department at work was much larger so I got to know him better as people left to get other jobs and the department shrank. He was a Sagittarius and told it like it was. He had a great sense of humor. One of our ex-co-workers always called him “The Voice of Doom” because he always told us the rumors he heard like “they’re going paperless” or “we’re all gonna be replaced by monkeys.” He was always bringing us candy or donuts. Here’s an excerpt from “Nutsie in Disguise” that has his character in it…

It was almost eleven o’clock-ish, as Jay would say, and all of a sudden, pandemonium took over. It was a good kind of pandemonium when customers started coming through the door. Mr. Waincliff, my first customer when we’d opened the last time, walked up to the front. He was sixty-something and worked at the Social Security Office.
“Hey, good morning, Nan. I’m glad this place is finally open again. Give me two dozen muffins and mix up the flavors.” While Fred was getting the order ready, Mr. Waincliff asked about the flowers, which I’d placed in a painted Mason jar I’d used as a vase.

Cliff, you will be missed!

Thanks to everyone for putting up with me during this trying time. I know I don’t always make it easy and for that, I apologize.

I will give away a copy of “Silver Dreidels” to a random commentator who answers the following question…name one of the vacation destinations Holly has pictured in her kitchen. Good luck, leave your e-mail.

2 responses to “***New release***, catching up, giveaway

  1. Gretchen Forde

    The Grand Canyon would be a great place for Holly. She probably has a picture of it. Sorry about your friend’s death. Welcome back!

    • Thanks, Gretchen–it will be weird not seeing Cliff every morning when I finally go back to work. I’ll try not to be a stranger on the blog but I have to take everything one minute at a time.

Leave a Reply

