Snippet Sunday 3/14–warm me up

I finished the love scene for Malia and Carson’s story. I thought the book was almost finished but now I realize there are a few things I left out.

Continuing on from last week’s snippet of “Fools Fall in Love” (working title), Carson and Malia are stuck at work and now she’s cold…any feedback is much appreciated…

Carson inched closer to her. “Are you cold?” He looked her over from her pink cardigan to her pink and white Oxford kitten heels.
“A little. I wore this outfit, and I’m freezing.”
Carson frowned. “You wouldn’t have gotten very far in those shoes. And…” He removed his flannel shirt and gently wrapped it around her. It smelled like clean laundry and citrus soap. “Does that take the chill off?”
“Yeah,” Malia said, sending him a smile. He had no idea how much the idea of wearing his shirt took the chill off. She was starving, too. If she were home, she’d be starting dinner right about now.

25 responses to “Snippet Sunday 3/14–warm me up

  1. What a gentleman! I hope next week we’ll see her in his arms … 🙂

  2. So he can be nice, too? That’s a bonus!

    Now, if only he knows how to break into vending machines! 😀

  3. Elainecsc2013

    Women like to wear men’s clothes, and I like that he’s such a gentleman about offering the shirt.

  4. Giving her the shirt off his back?

    I love this line: “He had no idea how much the idea of wearing his shirt took the chill off.”

  5. chellecordero

    Ooh, I could practically feel the warmth of being wrapped in a man’s flannel shirt, yumm. Very nice snippet.

  6. He probably also has something to eat, he seems really well prepared for this.

  7. Thanks for commenting, Elaine–yeah, I like that he offered his shirt, too.

  8. Thanks for commenting, Chelle–I was remembering when my husband gave me his leather jacket when I was cold. Miss him!

  9. siobhanmuir

    What a quiet, yet exciting moment. Good snippet, Nancy. 🙂

  10. Thanks for commenting, Siobhan. That’s what I was going for.

  11. Love in the air? Maybe? lol. Such a nice gesture for him to lend her his flannel shirt. Is it horrible that I love it so much more that it is flannel?

  12. Karen Michelle Nutt

    What a lovely gesture. A perfect gentleman. 🙂 So…does he have dinner packed somewhere, too? 🙂

  13. Sweet scene. I love that he is such a gentleman. 🙂

  14. Oh good! We get to see his nice side. I’m sure he has one. 🙂

  15. Ah… the power of a good flannel shirt.
    Nice snippet.

Leave a Reply

