Snippet Sunday, 9/13/15–Lorrie wants to be happy

Getting ready for the Jewish New Year, which starts Sunday night at sundown…here’s this week’s snippet, in Jay’s POV, which continues where last week’s left off. Any feedback is appreciated…
“Don’t worry about it. I’m going upstairs and tell Hugh Warner that…”
Lorrie looks me straight in the eye. “No. That’ll just make things worse. I’ll be okay.” She smiles, as if trying to convince herself, as well as me. “I should’ve seen the signs. Sometimes he really got on my nerves like if I cracked up over something you or Scotty said or if I sang too loud when I was at the condo. He hated it when I sang because he didn’t want the neighbors to hear. I may not have a voice like yours, but I am in the choir at church and I like to sing. And he said I couldn’t have a dog or a cat when we got married. Music and animals make me happy. Why wouldn’t Hugh want me to be happy?”
I let Lorrie vent as I look out the window and up at the luxury condos.

18 responses to “Snippet Sunday, 9/13/15–Lorrie wants to be happy

  1. No pets? Yep, he definitely sounds like someone she should have dumped first. (I like animals better than I do people.) And it sounds like he didn’t want her so much as an arm charm.

  2. Awww, sad. She sure was settling when she was with this guy, giving up pieces of herself. Well done snippet!

  3. Karen Michelle Nutt

    So sad for her. She gave up a lot to be with this guy. Why didn’t he want her to be happy. Great question.

  4. that’s sad, because I fully agree, pets and music are “happymakers” 🙂

  5. Yep. That’s venting for sure. Nicely captured, Nancy!

  6. Hugh doesn’t sound like a very nice man…

  7. She is better of without him, even if he hadn’t cheated, she is way better without him.

  8. I am so with P.T. on this one! No pets, no deal. I’d first talk to a dog before I talk to another person. LOL! I get the feeling he isn’t much listening to her vent though if he’s staring out the window.

Leave a Reply

