Snippet Sunday 12/13–Nutsie in Disguise

Sorry I haven’t been around for the last two months…I have been sick with the infection(s) that wouldn’t leave. Was in the hospital twice–but I’m feeling stronger and better every day. Finally got out of the house and back to work…

Scotty and Lorrie will be back next week (I hope). Meanwhile, my alter ego, Vi LaNance’s third story in the “Disguise” series (R-rated) is available on Amazon and other e-book sites. This and the other stories in the series (and three more new ones, plus the first two) will be available as a boxed set in print and e-book format. Meanwhile, you can get this one…it’s one of my favorites…

Here’s a snippet:

I was on my way to work, carting some supplies, when my feet were swept from beneath me. I should have been more careful because there was black ice everywhere, and I know that my landlady never removes it.

This was the second time I’d fallen in two weeks. I’d broken up with my boyfriend on Black Friday. Now, it was really Black Friday. In addition to frozen pipes, I’d just fired one of my employees for insubordination. To say that her constant cutting remarks about my weight, hair and clothes got on my nerves was an understatement.

To top it all off, my friend,   brother from another mother and smart aleck cab driver, Jay Galloway, had an uncanny ability to know which day to have a “difference of opinion” with me about my work ethic. He did work hard by driving people here and there in all kinds of weather, putting up with rude customers and avoiding crazy drivers. If he didn’t feel well, he still worked. When I’d left early after firing Tabitha, and had taken another whole day off, Jay had gotten upset. Neither rain, nor cold, nor mean employees and all that. And now he was walking toward me as I was sprawled out on the sidewalk. I didn’t look very professional laying there on the black ice. I had hoped the landlady would do something about removing the ice but guessed that was part of the conspiracy, too.

“Of all the ice on all the sidewalks in all the world, you had to fall on this one. Can you get up?” he asked.

“I’ll try.” But I slid again.

 

18 responses to “Snippet Sunday 12/13–Nutsie in Disguise

  1. Why is it that you can never do something like fall on your butt without someone there to witness it?

  2. Wow, that sounds like a pretty bad… life actually, not a bad week. She hates it all, she needs a new one. I hope the book is about her getting a new one. Getting a new one is always fun.

  3. siobhanmuir

    At least she has someone to help her up, even if he does give her the snark. Good snippet, Nancy. 🙂

  4. Glad to hear you’re feeling better! Enjoyed the excerpt, even though the poor heroine has all these troubles!

  5. Karen Michelle Nutt

    All I can say it things have to get better. lol Great snippet.

  6. chellecordero

    Acknowledge the embarrassing position she’s in or literally freeze her butt off, ay-yi-yi.

    Glad you are on the mend, welcome back.

  7. Love the Casablanca reference! Hope things improve for her soon, poor thing. Great snippet!

  8. Glad you’re feeling better. liked the snippet!

  9. Black ice is the perfect image to start this scene off with. It paints everything else with a little bit of danger. Nice.

Leave a Reply

