Snippet Sunday 9/18-Grandma

The sanctuary at Temple Beth David is decorated in royal blue and gold. There are all kinds of Chanukah decorations–made by the religious school kids. Paper dreidels and menorahs hang from the walls and ceiling on fishing wire. Since it’s the fifth night of Chanukah, a five candles in a menorah sits on the podium in front.

I’ve belonged to Beth David for a whiile, and it feels like my home. My best friend, Sirena Sachs, is a member, and so is my grandmother, Bernie (short for Bernice). I moved to Dannville and joined the temple because of Grandma. When I was a kid, I spent summers here, and now Grandma and I are housemates.

Sirena approaches us carrying two pies–one Dutch apple and one pumpkin. She hugs my grandma who is tall and slender. Grandma’s gray hair is cut in a bob and her blue eyes twinkle. Grandma isn’t one of those women who whips up batches of cookies, or watches cooking shows on TV, but I’, closer to her than to my parents.

I tease Sirena when we all go into the temple’s kitchen. “Thanks for bringing me the pies. What’s everyone else going to eat?”

12 responses to “Snippet Sunday 9/18-Grandma

  1. What an engaging story! You have me invested in her already. And I love the idea of Grandma as her housemate. I wanna be that kind of Grandma someday! 😉

  2. Neat descriptions of the setting and Grandma.

  3. *steals the apple pie*
    I’m betting Grandma Bernie is a hoot.

  4. You’ve set a very cozy scene. A piece of that pie would be great right about now.

  5. I really loved the way you portrayed Grandma. I could visualize the decorations too.

  6. I think I’m going to like this Grandma.

Leave a Reply

