Snippet Sunday 1/29-Unmarried

Back with this week’s snippet from my sweet historical WIP, “Daisies from Duke.” This is also really raw so any comments are appreciated and it’s been edited to fit the line length.

Duke sent her what he hoped was his most charming smile. It hadn’t impressed the editor, and he had the feeling Emma Richmond wouldn’t be impressed either.
Emma turned back to Jillian Bennett. “You have to take care of this. When I was hired for the position of school teacher, I said I was unmarried.”
The editor looked at the paper, and scanned the announcement. “You’re still unmarried.”
“I indend to stay that way. The school board expects teachers to be unattached. If they read this, I’ll have no job, no money and…” She looked like she might start crying any minute; the toughness she’d shown a few moments ago fading away.
Duke didn’t have any solutions. He wished he could think of a way to solve the problem, but not be shackled for all eternity.

24 responses to “Snippet Sunday 1/29-Unmarried

  1. Maybe he doesn’t want the mistake “rectified”

  2. You’ve got me wondering what kind of mistake gets her so worked up. Is it a really important mistake? Or does she have a short fuse? Your description makes me lean toward the latter, though I’m withholding judgement.

  3. It’s a little of both, as we’ll find out soon. Thanks for reading!

  4. Great description of her, but I can’t wait to find out how the “mistake” happened… (I suspect meddling parents.)

  5. So glad to pop in here and see you are working on something new. It “reads” like it’s going well! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Wonderful description of her! I wonder how she’s going to react to Duke introducing himself considering the mistake. That poor editor though… LOL

  7. Ah… I now think that her parents did it so she’d have to move back home…

  8. I wonder what the “mistake”. I liked the little snippet with giving some details about her.

  9. A tricky position to be in, whatever “mistake” caused it.

  10. Quite a problem but I have a feeling rectifying the error may not be as easy as everyone in the snippet seems to expect. I’m intrigued – great snippet!

  11. elainecsc2013

    That last line is terribly interesting!

  12. Karen Michelle Nutt

    I’m curious about this ‘mistake’. I have a hunch things will get worse before it all works out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Poor girl! She’s really trying and someone is obviously trying to muck it up. I wonder if there’s an ex-husband in her past that has her so angry and upset over this as well, considering she said she intends to stay unmarried. I also wonder why the school board cares if she’s attached or not, interesting.

Leave a Reply

