Snippet Sunday 4/9-More of Gregory

Continuing on with last week’s snippet from my WIP, “Independence Day.” Finally got the title–it’s Independence Day for a lot of people–that’s the heroine’s birthday, her dad declares his independence from being a wimp after ten years and here is more of his phone conversation with the hero’s mother…
It’s a little long, but this is the end of the chapter. I’ve got one more chapter and the epilogue to go before it’s finished and ready to submit for an anthology. Any feedback would be appreciated.

“How could Cilla break up your family?” I point out. “We’ve kept them apart for ten years.”
“Oren moved to Colorado right after they started dating. He dropped out of college to be a musician.”
She says “musician” like Oren is a criminal or something. I know he’s dyslexic and always had trouble in school. I try to be strong for a change. “Did you ever think he moved and dropped out of college because of you?”
“Don’t be ridiculous, Gregory! I always encouraged Oren, and your daughter ruined everything!”
“Cilla didn’t do anything except fall in love with your son. You tried to control him with your ‘encouragement’ like you did me…”
She ends the call before I can say more. I’m shaking. I can’t believe I sort of told her off. I drain the bottle of beer. The glass shatters as I throw it against the wall. Then I blast my music as loud as it will go, letting the Rolling Stones and the Animals help calm my anger. I wonder what in the hell I’m going to do now.

20 responses to “Snippet Sunday 4/9-More of Gregory

  1. interesting “relation” between these two.
    oh … he drains the bottle and throws the glass? Didn’t make sense to me.

  2. Veru intense – but he did it!

  3. I’m glad he finally told her off. Sounds like he should have done it years ago. (Somehow I don’t think this is the last we’ll hear of her, though.)

  4. Seems he had a lot of pentup things to say! And probably isn’t finished with them all yet either. Interesting excerpt.

  5. I sense a great deal of passion, buried deep, in this relation. Not necessarily good passion either.

  6. Go dad!!!! Great snippet. 🙂

  7. Wow. Seems like that talk was a long time coming. Intense.

  8. It sounds like she needed telling off.

  9. Karen Michelle Nutt

    I’m glad he stood up to her, but I have a hunch this isn’t over.

  10. Yay! Someone is standing up for themselves! I’m glad he told her off, if even just a small start to standing up. I have a feeling there will be backlash from her though. Still worth it. I love the ending about blasting his music to drown out anger, so relatable.

Leave a Reply

