Snippet Sunday 7/16-“Do you love me?”

Continuing on from 7/2 with my sweet historical romance, “Daisies from Duke.” This is still in Duke’s POV, Emma is about to wake up…This is also raw and unedited–any comments will be appreciated. I missed last week because I had trouble getting on the computer.

Mr. Stansbury face Duke with a wild gleam in his eye, making him feel even more protective of Emma. He wanted to get the sheriff, too, but he had no intention of leaving Emma alone with her “husband.”

“Emmy,” the man said, leaning closer and rubbing up against her like a tom cat on the prowl. “Wake up now.”

Duke edged toward them. “I wouldn’t do that if I were you.”

“Why not? She’s my wife!”

Emma’s green eyes fluttered open. “Theo…what are you…”

“I’m alive! I’ve come to take you back to Denver so we can be together as husband and wife!”

“You’re drunk!” Emma said. “Just like you were on our honeymoon!”

Theo took her hand, but look like he had intentions of doing more than that. “Are you still mad about that, sweetheart? Do you love me?”

Before she could answer, Clara burst into the room with Dr. Aaron Huntsberger, and Duke’s best friend, Wes Galloway.

“Holy Moses, Duke!” Wes exclaimed. “Looks like you’ve got all kinds of trouble here.”

Leave a Reply

